ACTION ALERT: Please Ask the HGO Committee to SUPPORT HB1379 Which Would Prohibit Inhumane Isolation of Patients in Healthcare Facilities

TEXT OF HB1378

Hospitals, Related Institutions, and Hospice Facilities – COVID-19 and Other Catastrophic Health Emergencies – Visitation

Prohibiting a hospital, related institution, or hospice facility from restricting the visitation of a patient’s family member or health care agent based on measures related to COVID-19 or any catastrophic health emergency; and authorizing the Maryland Department of Health to develop guidelines regarding the use of personal protective equipment by visitors if a patient is actively infected with COVID-19 or any disease constituting a catastrophic health emergency.

why icm SUPPORTS HB1379

 
  • Restricting access to family members isolates patients at a time when they are most vulnerable. These policies are unnecessarily inhumane and harmful while conferring no individual or society-wide benefit.


Who to contact about HB1379

There will be a hearing for HB1379 before the Health and Government Operations Committee on 3/14/2022 at 2:00 PM.

URGENT: We’re asking all members to contact bill sponsors Delegate Cox, Delegate Boteler, Delegate Krebs, and Delegate McComas, and to call and email members of the Health and Government Operations Committee to let them know, in your own words, why you support this bill!
410-841-3288 | 301-858-3288
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3288

e-mail: dan.cox@house.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 4 – let him know!

410-841-3334 | 301-858-3334
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3334

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 7 – let her know!

 
410-841-3365 | 301-858-3365
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3365
e-mail: Joseph.boteler@house.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 8 – let him know!

 
Phone 410-841-3284 | 301-858-3284 
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3284
email: Kevin.Hornberger@house.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 35A – let him know!

 
410-841-3272 | 301-858-3272
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3272

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 34B – let her know!

 

 

Please copy and paste the following email addresses of the Health and Government Operations Committee members into the BCC section of your email in support of HB1347:

heather.bagnall@house.state.md.us, lisa.belcastro@house.state.md.us, harry.bhandari@house.state.md.us, alfred.carr@house.state.md.us, brian.chisholm@house.state.md.us, bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us, Terri.Hill@house.state.md.us, steve.johnson@house.state.md.us, Anne.Kaiser@house.state.md.us, Ariana.Kelly@house.state.md.us, ken.kerr@house.state.md.us, Nicholaus.Kipke@house.state.md.us, Susan.krebs@house.state.md.us, Cheryl.Landis@house.state.md.us, robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us, matt.morgan@house.state.md.us, joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us, shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us, Teresa.Reilly@house.state.md.us, samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us, Sid.Saab@house.state.md.us, Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us, kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us, Karen.Young@house.state.md.us
 

Please call the offices of the Health and Government Operations Committee members in support of HB1347:

410-841-3406 | 301-858-3406
 
410-841-3833 | 301-858-3833
 
410-841-3526 | 301-858-3526
 
410-841-3638 | 301-858-3638
 
410-841-3206 | 301-858-3206
 
410-841-3883 | 301-858-3883
 
410-841-3378 | 301-858-3378
 
410-841-3280 | 301-858-3280
 
410-841-3036 | 301-858-3036
 
410-841-3642 | 301-858-3642
 
410-841-3240 | 301-858-3240
 
410-841-3421 | 301-858-3421
 
410-841-3200 | 301-858-3200
 
410-841-3448 | 301-858-3448
 
410-841-3772 | 301-858-3772
 
410-841-3170 | 301-858-3170
 
410-841-3502 | 301-858-3502
 
410-841-3139 | 301-858-3139
 
410-841-3278 | 301-858-3278
 
410-841-3297 | 301-858-3297
 
410-841-3551 | 301-858-3551
 
410-841-3427 | 301-858-3427
 
410-841-3698 | 301-858-3698
 
410-841-3436 | 301-858-3436 
 
 

Please note: Rules for submitting written and oral testimony have changed this year due to Covid-19 restrictions, and can be viewed here. We’re asking members for phone calls, emails, and written testimony only at this time.

Please spread the word! Let’s flood the offices of HB1379 sponsors and the HGO committee members with polite, respectful, forceful emails and phone calls. They need to hear our voices!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.