Action Alert: Please Ask the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee Members to OPPOSE SB357, Which Seeks to Violate the Privacy of Vulnerable Citizens

TEXT OF SB357 -Adult Protective Services – Vulnerable Adults Registry – Investigations and Records of Abuse and Neglect and Workgroup Study

Establishing certain requirements and procedures relating to the reporting, disclosure, investigation, and appeal of civil allegations and findings of abuse and neglect of vulnerable adults; authorizing the Social Services Administration to establish and maintain a centralized confidential database for abused and neglected vulnerable adults; establishing a Workgroup to Study Best Practices for a Vulnerable Adult Registry in Maryland; etc.
 

why icm OPPOSES SB357

Who to contact about SB357

There will be a hearing for SB357 before the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee on Tuesday, 2/9/22 at 1:00 PM.

URGENT: We’re asking all members to contact bill sponsors Senator Benson, Senator Patterson, Senator Elfreth, Senator Klausmeier, Senator King, Senator Snydor, Senator Beidle, Senator Young, Senator Griffith, and Senator Watson, and call and email the members of Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, to let them know, in your own words, why you oppose SB357.

Please contact the following bill sponsors, Senator Benson, Senator Patterson, Senator Elfreth, Senator Klausmeier, Senator King, Senator Snydor, Senator Beidle, Senator Young, Senator Griffith, and Senator Watson to express your opposition.

Senator Joanne C. Benson
Phone 410-841-3148 | 301-858-3148   Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3148
e-mail: joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 24 – let her know!

 

Senator Obie Patterson

Phone 410-841-3092 | 301-858-3092 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3092 

e-mail: obie.patterson@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 26 – let him know!

 

Senator Sarah K. Elfreth

Phone 410-841-3578 | 301-858-3578 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3578 

e-mail: sarah.elfreth@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 30 – let her know!

 

Senator Katherine Klausmeier

Phone 410-841-3620 | 301-858-3620 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3620 

e-mail: katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us 

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 8 – let her know!

 

Senator Nancy J. King

Phone 410-841-3686 | 301-858-3686 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3686 

e-mail: nancy.king@senate.state.md.us 

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 39 – let her know!

 

Senator Charles E. Sydnor, III

Phone 410-841-3612 | 301-858-3612 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3612

email: charles.sydnor@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 44 – let him know!

 

Senator Pamela Beidle

Phone 410-841-3593 | 301-970-3593 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3593 

e-mail: pamela.beidle@senate.state.md.us 

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 32 – let her know!

 

Senator Ronald N. Young

Phone 410-841-3575 | 301-858-3575 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3575 

e-mail: ronald.young@senate.state.md.us 

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 3 – let him know!

 

Senator Melony Griffith

Phone 410-841-3127 | 301-858-3127 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3127 

e-mail: melony.griffith@senate.state.md.us 

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 25 – let her know!

 

Senator Ron Watson

Phone 410-841-3631 | 301-858-3631 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3631

email: ron.watson@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 23 – let him know!

 

Please copy and paste the following email addresses of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee members into the BCC section of your email in opposition to SB357:

will.smith@senate.state.md.us, jeff.waldstreicher@senate.state.md.us, jack.bailey@senate.state.md.us, jill.carter@senate.state.md.us, Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us, shelly.hettleman@senate.state.md.us, michael.hough@senate.state.md.us, susan.lee@senate.state.md.us, chris.west@senate.state.md.us 

 

Please call the offices of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee members in opposition to SB357:

William C. Smith, Jr.

Phone 410-841-3634 | 301-858-3634 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3634 

 

Jeff Waldstreicher

Phone 410-841-3137 | 301-858-3137 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3137

 

Jack Bailey

Phone 410-841-3673 | 301-858-3673 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3673 

 

Jill P. Carter

Phone 410-841-3697 | 301-858-3697 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3697

 

Robert Cassilly

Phone 410-841-3158 | 301-858-3158 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3158

 

Shelly Hettleman

Phone 410-841-3131 | 301-858-3131 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3131

 

Michael J. Hough

Phone 410-841-3704 | 301-858-3704 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3704 

 

Susan C. Lee

Phone 410-841-3124 | 301-858-3124 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3124 

 

Chris West

Phone 410-841-3648 | 301-858-3648 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3648

 

 

Please note: Rules for submitting written and oral testimony have changed this year due to Covid-19 restrictions, and can be viewed here. We’re asking members for phone calls, emails, and written testimony only at this time.

Please spread the word! Let’s flood the offices of SB357 bill sponsors and the Senate Judicial Proceedings committee members with polite, respectful, forceful emails and phone calls. They need to hear our voices!

 

Please consider joining ICM’s free Telegram group where you’ll find like minds instead of arguments, as well as helpful resources for navigating vaccine data, mandates, exemptions and more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.