Action Alert: Please Ask the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee Members to OPPOSE SB298, Which Seeks to Criminalize Speech and Violate Citizens’ First Amendment Rights

TEXT OF SB298 -Criminal Law – Threat Against Public Health Official or Hospital Staff Member

Prohibiting a person from making or sending a threat to a public health official or hospital staff member with the intent to intimidate, interfere with, or impede a public health official or hospital staff member from performing official duties; and providing that a person who violated the Act is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment of up to 90 days and a fine of up to $500, or both.
 

why icm OPPOSES SB298

Who to contact about SB298

There will be a hearing for SB298 before the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee on Tuesday, 2/8/22 at 1:00 PM.

URGENT: We’re asking all members to contact bill sponsors Senator Young, Senator Benson, Senator Feldman, and Senator Lam, and call and email the members of Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, to let them know, in your own words, why you oppose SB298!

Please contact the following bill sponsors, Senator Young, Senator Benson, Senator Feldman, and Senator Lam to express your opposition.

Senator Ronald N. Young
Phone 410-841-3575 | 301-858-3575   Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3575
e-mail: ronald.young@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 3 – let him know!

Senator Joanne C. Benson
Phone 410-841-3148 | 301-858-3148   Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3148
e-mail: joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of hers – in District 24 – let her know!

Senator Brian J. Feldman
Phone 410-841-3169 | 301-858-3169   Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3169
e-mail: brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 15 – let him know!

Senator Clarence K. Lam
Phone 410-841-3653 | 301-858-3653   Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3653
e-mail: clarence.lam@senate.state.md.us

If you’re a constituent of his – in District 12 – let him know!

 

Please copy and paste the following email addresses of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee members into the BCC section of your email in opposition to SB298:

will.smith@senate.state.md.us, jeff.waldstreicher@senate.state.md.us, jack.bailey@senate.state.md.us, jill.carter@senate.state.md.us, Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us, shelly.hettleman@senate.state.md.us, michael.hough@senate.state.md.us, susan.lee@senate.state.md.us, charles.sydnor@senate.state.md.us, ron.watson@senate.state.md.us, chris.west@senate.state.md.us 

 

Please call the offices of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee members in opposition to SB298:

William C. Smith, Jr.

Phone 410-841-3634 | 301-858-3634 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3634 


Jeff Waldstreicher

Phone 410-841-3137 | 301-858-3137 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3137


Jack Bailey

Phone 410-841-3673 | 301-858-3673 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3673 


Jill P. Carter

Phone 410-841-3697 | 301-858-3697 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3697


Robert Cassilly

Phone 410-841-3158 | 301-858-3158 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3158


Shelly Hettleman

Phone 410-841-3131 | 301-858-3131 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3131


Michael J. Hough

Phone 410-841-3704 | 301-858-3704 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3704 


Susan C. Lee

Phone 410-841-3124 | 301-858-3124 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3124 


Charles E. Sydnor, III

Phone 410-841-3612 | 301-858-3612 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3612


Ron Watson

Phone 410-841-3631 | 301-858-3631 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3631 


Chris West

Phone 410-841-3648 | 301-858-3648 

Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3648



Please note: Rules for submitting written and oral testimony have changed this year due to Covid-19 restrictions, and can be viewed here. We’re asking members for phone calls, emails, and written testimony only at this time.

Please spread the word! Let’s flood the offices of SB298 bill sponsors and the Senate Judicial Proceedings committee members with polite, respectful, forceful emails and phone calls. They need to hear our voices!

 

Please consider joining ICM’s free Telegram group where you’ll find like minds instead of arguments, as well as helpful resources for navigating vaccine data, mandates, exemptions and more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.